Meet Mrs. Mohr

  • I am so excited to be able to teach second grade. Prior to teaching in Jackson, I taught for 5 years in Cuyahoga Falls. There I taught kindergarten for 3 years, first for one year, and second for one year. At the time, I was living in Louisville and dreaded that long trip each morning to school and the trip home, as well. Luckily for me, I got a job in Jackson and have been here ever since. I taught second grade at Amherst before our beautiful Strausser was built. Again, I feel so lucky to have been chosen to come to Strausser. I have taught second here every year, with the exception of teaching third one year.  This is my 26th year.

    I attended the University of Toledo for one year(majoring in secondary education, drama, and English) before transfering to Kent State University. I started out trying to major in Hospitality, but couldn't stand not being in the classroom. I immediately switched back to education, but this time, majoring in Early Childhood Education. I am certified K-3. I received my masters degree in Technological Instruction, also from Kent, about 18 years ago.

    I am 48 years old and live with my husband, Rich, in Massillon. We have three boys ages 17, 15, and 13. They attend Perry Local Schools - makes for an interesting night when Jackson plays Perry. I grew up on the other side of Ohio in a small town called Bryan. It only has about 8,000 residents, but is home to Ohio Art where Etch-a-Sketch is made and Spangler Candy Company, home of the Dum-Dum and, in my opinion, the only candy cane worth buying or eating. My mother still lives close to Bryan with my sister and her family. My parents are retired music teachers and my sister is a middle school principal.  I guess I was born with the education gene.

    I have many loves in my life besides my friends and family. For instance, I love to shop(if there is no one under 16 with me). I try to get with my college girlfriends a few times each year for a good day of shopping. I am very involved with Lil' Lambs Closet, a children's consignment sale. I have served as a chairman since 2004.  I am currently the director and website designer.  I also am a member of the Perry Boys Basketball Booster Club and Perry Baseball Bullpen. 

    I don't think my life would be complete if I didn't get to enjoy the beach each year. I love to watch the waves and listen to my children playing in the sand or the water. I'm not sure there is anything more enjoyable then hearing their laughter while enjoying the sun and sand! And I am always up for a good sunset. I also LOVE baseball. Besides the joy I get in watching my children play, I do enjoy watching the Cleveland Indians. It is, of course, easier when they are winning.  I NEVER say "no" to going to a baseball game. We always include going to a game on any and all vacations. My husband and I are big fans of all the Cleveland sporting groups - yeah, we understand losing and disappointment well. We also love those Ohio State Buckeyes which always drove my own father crazy since he was a Michigan grad.

    My favorite things:
    Favorite color- blue
    Favorite food- Mexican or pizza
    Favorite vacation (with kids)- Something with a beach, preferably Florida or close to a baseball stadium so we can catch a game or two
    Favorite vacation (without kids or husband) - Easton Place, Columbus or anything close to an outlet mall
    Favorite candy- Rolos or Carmello bars (anything
    with carmel) and Dove Dark Chocolate
    Favorite treats- cotton candy or chips and salsa
    Favorite sport- baseball
    Favorite restaurants- Hartville Kitchen, Kozmo's, El Camps, Lucia's, Bubba's
    Favorite TV shows- Scandal, Criminal Minds,  Property Brothers, Love it or List It, The Brady Bunch, Big Bang Theory!
    Favorite movie(s) - My Cousin Vinny, Major League(the Ultimate dream!), The Sandlot, High School Musical, Moneyball
    Favorite music- Jimmy Buffet, Theory of a Deadman, country, showtunes, almost anything
    Favorite sound - children laughing or telling someone they love them