Meet Mrs. Michael

  • I am a Jacksonite myself!  I went to Amherst Elementary, the middle school and graduated from Jackson High School in 1994.  I actually knew my husband, Jason, back from Amherst but didn't start dating him until after I graduated from college.  We were married in March of 2004.  We have two wonderful children, one girl and one boy.  Our daughter's name is Kamryn and she is 12 and in 7th grade.  Our son, Carter, will turn 10 this October and is right downstairs in fourth grade this year. We have lots of fun as a family and enjoyed 10 days in Siesta Key, Florida this summer.  I love to do anything my children want to do, go out to eat and shop!!  I also love to read, LOVE Starbucks and enjoy being with my family more than anything!!

    I graduated from Ashland University in 1998.  This will be my 20th year teaching here in Jackson.  My first four years were spent at Amherst Elementary teaching second grade.  I moved to Strausser when it first opened it's doors and and taught first grade for years. This year will be my 3rd year as Strausser's reading specialist. I will be doing Kindergarten, 1st grade, 2nd grade, 3rd grade and  possibly 4th grade polar times this year. I graduated with my Master of Education degree from Ashland University in 2003.  Since then, I have taken several technology classes, a guided reading and differentiation class, been trained in The Daily Five and was trained as mentor teacher. Five years ago, I was trained through through a grant at The Ohio State University to be a Reading Recovery teacher.  I went to classes the 2012-2013 school year and am now officially a Reading Recovery trained teacher. Reading Recovery is a highly effective short term intervention of one to one tutoring for first graders who are struggling to become readers.  It allows me to work one on one with children to help them close the gap and read at the same level as their peers.  I work with 3-4 Reading Recovery children a day.




    Favorite color: Pink and Aqua


    Favorite pet: My black lab, Charli:)  She is just over 2 years old and still quite the puppy.  We also have a 3 year old cat named Bella and a 1 year old kitty named Maisie.


    Favorite foods: Italian, Mexican, ice cream, Starbucks, sweets


    Favorite restaurants: Olive Garden, Danny Boys, Outback, Carrabba's, Starbucks!


    Favorite hobbies: Reading, shopping, playing with my children and puppy, swimming.


    Favorite stores: Target, Loft, Bath and Body, Yankee Candle.


    Favorite books: The Kissing Hand  

    Favorite music: COUNTRY


    Favorite TV shows: Grey's Anatomy and Nashville




My family